Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Job 32:7

IMG_20150224_092540

The devotional is written by Michelle Medlock Adams, Secrets of Beauty. 

 

Ms. Adams points out a great point. God doesn’t care about our grey hairs or wrinkles or age spots, he only wants a willing heart. While I’m not personally feeling over the hill and used up. I know that the older I get the harder I think everything is. Mostly when I think about finally starting a job in the field I studied in. I know that the youth will be sweeping in yearly and my chance grow harder. But this devotional relays two stories of two different women who are more productive for God when they were older than they every were when they were young. Age produces wisdom and when those years of aging have been spent seeking and studying God’s word when that age kicks in, anyone can be the vessel God needs them to be. It’s a matter of faith not numbers.

Most people like numbers, order, focus. I know I do. I hate not knowing what is going, I hate being disheveled (though I feel that way daily). I hate not being in order. Number but order to things. But God doesn’t need that order like I do. My pastor said yesterday that we think God is late, but he’s not. God is always on time and he’s always faithful, so my mere mortal brain who wants that number and order means nothing to him. He’s time is perfect and even if that means I will be a sixty year old writer who’s just finally being published, doesn’t mean that I’ve wasted sixty years. It means I’ve spent sixty years having God prep me for what that would mean. God is never late. He is ALWAYS faithful. Age is just a number. Faith and willingness is what God needs from us. That is what we have to give him. The end.

 

 

 

Goodbye